GSM visa are essentially the visas for those who wish to live, study and work in Australia.

Visa class and Subclass

Skilled Independent visa (Subclass 189)

Points Test based permanent residency visa which allows to live and work in Australia indefinitely. Application requires at least 60 points to lodge the Expression of Interest (EoI) and need to support the visa application with evidence of claim points.

Skilled Nominated visa (Subclass 190)

Australian state or territory government agency nominate the eligible applicants. To be eligible for this visa subclass, applicant needs at least 55 migration points and need to lodge Expression of Interest (EoI) choosing relevant state or territory which may grant the 5 extra points towards the migration application.

Skilled Regional (Provisional) visa (Subclass 489)

The temporary visa that allows to live and work up to 4 years in the specified regional area of Australia.

There are two pathways for this visa.

This is also the points-tested system and hence need to submit Expression of Interest (EoI) and must have received the invitation to apply for visa.

Skilled-Regional (Residence) Visa (Subclass 887)

This is the permanent visa which allows to live and stay in Australia indefinitely. This visa is for people who hold eligible visa such as subclass 489 and lived for at least two years working at least one year full time in the designated regional area of Australia.